What Are You Learning?

If I were to ask you, “What have you been reading lately that you learned from?” what would be your answer?

Note, the question is NOT: “What have you been reading lately that was edifying?” BUT RATHER: “What has challenged you and taught you?”

Leave your answer in the comments.

(Thanks to Tyler Cowan for the idea)

7 Responses to What Are You Learning?

  1. love1wins says:

    A couple of books that have been really challenging to me recently are: Rich Christians in a Age of Hunger by Ronald J. Sider and Justice in the Burbs by Will and Lisa Samson. Each of these books examines the role that Christians should play in improving the world in which we live. Yet, many of us are not doing us, we have become consumers, yet produce very little (at least for others).

  2. Scott W. Kay says:

    Small world. I’ve been reading “Neither Poverty or Riches, A Biblical Theology of Possessions” by Craig L. Blomberg, which addresses the same topics as Sider. In fact, Blomberg interacts with Sider in several places throughout. If you’re interested, you might want to check it out. This is certainly an issue that Western American Christians (myself included) clearly need some help in thinking biblically about. I’ve only begun reading Blomberg, but like you, I’ve had my thinking challenged and taught.

  3. Seth says:

    The Miracle of Dialogue by Reuel L. Howe. He notes the differences between monologue and dialogue, giving examples of each. He also talks about what it means to communicate. It’s reminding me that talking with people is a two way exchange where we enter into each other lives, that just speaking words doesn’t mean I’m communicating meaning, that hearing words doesn’t mean I’m listening.

    I’m finding the following quote both challenging and enlightening: “Preoccupation with one’s moral state, with one’s emotional life or spiritual being, is self-destroying. Jesus taught men to look not in on themselves but to the other, whether man or God; to love, to give, to affirm, to forgive, and, in so doing, to love oneself.”

  4. Nathan says:

    Hey Scott, I have been enjoying your blog. I just finished reading “Why People Believe Weird Things” by Micheal Shermer. Yes, he a rabid anti-religious person, but I don’t read different views much. Among other topics, it deals with why people believe in Alien abductions, Holocaust deniers, and of course, Creationism. It was an interesting read from a skeptic’s perspective, and had some interesting psychological observations regarding people’s beliefs.
    I am also finishing up “The History of Money” by Jack Weatherford. This has been a fascinating and well written book. Among other things, it discusses how Jews became associated with banking, how the first modern banks came about (during the crusades) and how money has affected historical events. Enjoy your new MacBook!- Nathan

  5. Hi Scott, I just finished the book “A guy who was gay”. This is the biography of a Dutch swimmer (Richard Oostrum) who converted to Christ after living as gay for almost all his life. He is now working with YWAM in Amsterdam, is married and has a child. What I’ve learned, or let’s say confirmed, is that inner healing is a process. It’s a particular challenge for me to keep focused in the truths of the Gospel in order not to “look back” to what the gay lifestyle offers. It also challenges me to love others in the same way Jesus did.
    The book can be ordered online at;
    http://www.equippingthechurch.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=3131

  6. Enjoying Grace says:

    Hey Pastor Kay,
    I am currently reading “The God who is there”. It’s the first book of many in the complete works of Francis Schaeffer. Its a historical and philosophical documentation on the change of perspective of truth that occurred in the late 19th century for Europe and in the early 20th century for the United States. He refers to this loss of the understanding of truth as the “line of despair”. Of course, everything below the line of despair is the current perspective on truth that the majority of the world holds. Its challenging me to see how this new, dead-ending outlook on truth(God) and life has taken captive of my own thoughts and viewpoints. Not to mention the challenge on my highly underpriviledged vocabulary. (I mean after reading this book I realize that my vocabulary has what I would like to call a “condition”). It is also teaching me a lot about the history of modern day philosophy and how even art, music, literature, and works have been effected tremendously by the new misunderstood approach to thinking about God.

  7. Boyd Moore says:

    I imagine that most readers here have found the John Piper messages that are recommended on Tony Reinke’s blog, http://spurgeon.wordpress.com/, but if not they should ckeck them out. For a month or more, I have been breathing the “uncommon air of the Himalayas of revelation” given by Jonathan Edwards through John Piper. Listen/watch/read the October 2003 Desiring God conference, found at http://www.desiringgod.org/ (->Conference Messages->ByTitle->A God-Entranced Vision of All Things: Why We Need Jonathan Edwards 300 Years Later.

    Wow! My eyes have been opened to a much fuller meaning of 2 Corithians 3:18.

    Have a blessed Thanksgiving Day.

    Boyd

Leave a Reply

