It’s All The Reward You’re Gonna Get

Satire is always funny because it’s laced with so much truth.

(HT: World From Our Window) (Thanks Brandon for the tip!)

Now, more seriously:

If we entertain people, our church will grow. If we lead in worship, our church may shrink until it is composed of a group of people who want to worship. Then the church has a chance to grow based on the precedent of worship. The church that worships will have many visitors who never come back, and a few who cannot stay away.

— David Hansen, The Art of Pastoring

If Jesus had a church in Simi Valley, I betcha mine would be bigger. I betcha if the Apostle Paul had a church in Simi Valley, mine would be bigger. In fact, I betcha people would be leaving their churches to come to mine. Because I don’t call them to the same commitment that Jesus called them to. Jesus would have a crowd of thousands of people, and by the time he’s done preaching, there’s, you know, a few left and he goes, “You guys wanna leave also? ‘Cause I’m gonna walk out here and you gotta leave your father, your mother, your wife, your kids, and there might be a bunch of crosses out there, and we’re just all gonna get crucified together. You wanna come with me?”

That wasn’t real popular. I think, man, I’m more popular than Jesus. I can keep a crowd. I can keep ’em interested. I can say some interesting things. I can make ’em laugh. I can keep ’em coming. And it just bugged me, because I think, wait a second, that’s not right. Am I really willing to say whatever Jesus called me to say?

— Francis Chan

(HT: Jared)

One Response to It’s All The Reward You’re Gonna Get

  1. ken says:

    Great quote from Francis Chan! thanks for sharing it!

    ken
    missionaryroad.com

Leave a Reply

